About us

Established over 40 years ago as a semi-formal association of specialists, the Lithuanian Society of Anaesthesiology and Intensive Care, has evolved into a multifaceted organisation that now represents over three-quarters of specialists practicing anesthesia, intensive care and pain medicine in Lithuania.

Our aim is to promote and advance education, safety, and research in anesthesia; support professional development; and promote well-being amongst anesthetists. We also take an active role in advising educational establishments, improving standards, policies, and procedures.


We regularly organise national conferences, training days and partner with educational establishments to offer a variety of Continuous Medical Education opportunities for doctors in Lithuania. Our Guidelines Team works to adopt international guidelines and recommendations, and develops original ones – these are freely available online. Our representatives at UEMS, ESA, CEEA, and EBA also contribute to training, standard-setting and further developments in the field.

Shaping national and international healthcare policy:

We work closely with a range of national stakeholders including the Lithuanian Ministry of Health, the National Commissioners and the Licensing authority to name a few. Some of our recent projects include the National Competency Framework for Anaesthesiologists and Intensive Care specialists and the National accreditation requirements for Intensive Care services. We are represented at the ESA Council and NASC where we directly contribute to decision-making and shape the future of our profession on the European stage.


The President and the board members are elected by the members of the society for a 5-year term. All day-to-day activities are delivered by the board. However, we also aim to use the expertise of our members to deliver larger, more specific projects by using an open workgroup model whereby any member of our Society can (and is encouraged to) join for a variable period of time.

The board:

• President
• Scientific Secretary (Prof. Andrius Macas)
• Treasurer (Assoc. Prof. Mindaugas Serpytis)
• Board members

Sections / Committees:

• Guidelines, recommendations and protocols
• Chairmen
• Vosylius
• Gelmanas

Junior doctors’ section:

• Chairmen
• Aurimas Peckauskas
• Vilma Traskaite


9th International Baltic Congress of Anaesthesiology and Intensive Care

25 – 27 October 2018

Radisson Blu Hotel Lietuva, Konstitucijos ave. 20, Vilnius, Lithuania